Historic Mildred Huie Museum
The land was purchased by Mildred Weigle Nix Huie and her husband, Carl Huie, in the late 1960s. Until her death in 2000, the location served as the home and studio of Mrs. Huie, a renowned impressionist artist and historian, whose paintings of St. Simons remain an integral part of the island’s cultural fabric.
Mrs. Huie’s daughter, Millie Wilcox, an accomplished artist like her mother, maintained the former family home as a museum for more than a decade following her mother’s death. The unique-to-the-island Mediterranean-style home was designed by noted architect Fred Stroberg in 1928. Much like today, there were magnificent wisteria-draped Live Oaks and other native plants throughout the property.
The Mildred Huie Museum was the first site acquired by the Land Trust after receiving a $4 million challenge grant from The Anschutz Foundation in 2018.
After purchase, the Land Trust demolished structures that were no longer in use, removed aged plantings that could not be saved, and added new landscaping and seating for public use. Comprising four platted lots, the property could have become commercial space or multi-family dwellings. Instead, this park-like setting will serve as an ongoing testament of Mrs. Huie’s and Mrs. Wilcox’s contributions to the life and culture of this island.
Public benches can be found on this property for visitors who want to rest, relax, go birding, or enjoy a picnic under the sprawling live oaks.